Lenes, Webb head back to House

Obama, Shumlin return for second term

Editor’s note: Figures in this article are the unofficial results of the general election as of Wednesday morning, Nov. 7.


Joan Lenes stands outside the polls at the Shelburne Town Gym Tuesday morning. Lenes won the bid for reelection as State Representative over Republican opponent George Schiavone.

By the afternoon of Monday, Nov. 5, it was clear that Shelburne voter turnout was high. “There won’t be long lines tomorrow because half of Shelburne already voted,” said Town Clerk Colleen Haag. But it wasn’t clear just how high turnout would be. By the time the polls closed at 7 pm on Tuesday, 90 percent of registered voters in Shelburne had cast their ballots. That’s 14 percent higher than the turnout from two years ago. Additionally, the number of registered voters has increased by 36 since 2010.

The Democrats ruled the day in Shelburne. Kate Webb won the House seat for district 5-1 with 1,970 votes in an unopposed bid. In Shelburne’s district 5-2, incumbent Joan Lenes won over Republican candidate George Schiavone by a vote of 1,128 to 866.

Reached by phone Wednesday morning, Lenes was happy to be receiving congratulatory calls. “Thank you to everyone who supported me,” she said. “Thank you for democracy. I’m thrilled and pleased to be going back. It’s an honor and a privilege to serve, and I hope to serve as diligently as I have in the past.”

Voting on Article 1, Form-Based Code, provided tight, highly anticipated results, with just 32 votes determining that the article was not approved.

Other outcomes

In the national race, Shelburne supported the Obama/Biden ticket with 68 percent of the vote while Romney/Ryan garnered 31 percent of Shelburne voters. U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders and Representative to Congress Peter Welch will continue to hold their current positions.

Major state level race results in Shelburne predominately mirrored the statewide result for the Governor’s race, with Peter Shumlin receiving 61.6 percent of the vote, over the 35.7 percent for Randy Brock.

In the Lieutenant Governor’s race, Shelburne voters supported Republican Phil Scott’s bid with 55.4 percent vs. Progressive/Democratic Cassandra Gekas with 43.6 percent of the vote.

Jim Condos received 92.6 percent of votes in his race for Secretary of State over Mary Alice Herbert. In the race for State Treasurer, Democrat Beth Pearce was supported by 54.3 percent of voters over Republican Wendy Wilton’s 38.6 percent. A surprise came in the race for Auditor of Accounts, when Doug Hoffer was victorious over competitor Vincent Illuzzi with 55.1 percent of the vote compared to Illuzzi’s 43.4 percent. The state senators voted for in Shelburne were Tim Ashe, Philip Baruth, Sally Fox, Virginia “Ginny” Lyons, Diane B. Snelling, and David E. Zuckerman.

Michael R. Major easily won the race for High Bailiff with 71.1 percent of the vote over Randall Barrows’ 28.9 percent. All 15 candidates for Justice of the Peace were elected.

How Shelburne voted:

See the Shelburne News website for a complete list of Shelburne’s election results by the numbers. Visit www.shelburnenews.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>